One size rarely fits all.

Well, dang, it’s been a long time! How the heck are you all? I’ve missed you. What have you been doing?

I haven’t been writing, because there’s been a lot going on (which there sort of has been, I went to BlogHer and before that felt like I was running around entirely too much doing those sorts of life things that take up time, but don’t make it into memory), but also because I’ve been feeling like this blog just doesn’t…fit me anymore.

And I don’t even know what that means.

I was asked a bunch at BlogHer what I blogged about. It’s the standard ice-breaker question. And each time I heard it I said, “…..oh, mostly…life. Raising my son…politics…” I stammered and felt like a deer caught in the headlights. So then I tried answering, “Gender politics and parenting.” Where I was mostly greeted with a deer in the headlights look. Which, quite frankly, made me feel  awkward, but whatever.

I spent a bunch of time talking to Amy about how I spend too much time standing in my way when I sit down to write. That because the blog lacks “clear direction” when I sit down to write something political, or not-family, I get all worked up that someone else has surely written what I’m about to write and I’m sure they said it better and, and, and…blank space for 6 weeks.

Actually, I kind of know what I mean when I say the blog doesn’t fit – I wonder should I give it a new name? One that is more reflective of this being MY blog, instead of a post-marriage, post-baby blog that was originally loosely conceived to keep family up on what was happening with us.

I dunno. I’m in flux.

But, damn if I don’t have a lot to say.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “One size rarely fits all.

  1. rename it, sure. whatever. Just keep writing. You have described my blog writer’s block and I don’t even try to get into politics or anything very far beyond me & my little family. Please keep writing, Tan. XOXO

  2. I still think the name is fine. Just because it meant something specific in your head when you called it Life Version 2.0 doesn’t mean that is the universal understanding of the name. It isn’t called ”My Baby in Oakland” or anything where you are screwed if you move to Chicago.

    • I’m going to give it a little while and see if my irritation with it passes. It probably will…I’m fickle that way. Thanks for hashing it out with me all weekend. It was good to talk about it.

  3. For what it’s worth, I started a couple of other blogs and then let them peter out before I found something that worked for me. What I’ve found is that other people might write about the same topics that I do, but as long as I bring enough of myself to the subject – my own experiences, perspectives, writing style – I feel motivated to write and good about what I write. Because yeah, anyone can rehash an article they saw on a news site, but not everyone has my specific perspective or experiences. Does that make sense?

    This is a long way of saying that you should write about the things you WANT to write about, and everything else will fall into place.

    • I was thinking about you when I wrote this because I wrote that long reply to one of your posts and it was easy. The words just came. But when I sat down in front of my blog with the blank page I went, “Uhhhh….” There’s something intimidating about my own blog. I’ma get past that. Somehow. Like you and open water swimming. I can DO THIS.

  4. Just please don’t stop writing :)

  5. I’m sorry I missed you at BlogHer, as I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have given you a funny look in response to your description of your blog. Unless I couldn’t hear you, which sometimes happens. My ears aren’t the best.

    Best wishes in figuring it out. Writing MOAR sounds like a good way to do so.

    • I’m sorry I missed you at BlogHer, too! I didn’t do a really good job talking it up before hand and when I got back discovered all kinds of awesome folks had been there, and I didn’t get to meet them. MOAR writing, for sure.

  6. Hi. I’ve never commented before, but I just wanted to say thanks for what you are doing here. I am mom to a 2-year-old and it’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. At night, after working, commuting, dinner, bath, and bedtime, I collapse onto the couch, smartphone in hand, and websurf. Mostly it’s just something to do as I lay around postponing my own bedtime, but chuckling over mindless drivel ultimately gave way to seriously interesting and engaging content. I found you and a couple of other feminist mom bloggers that I kept coming back to and knew I had found my niche.

    I can see where you are coming from with not having a clear direction and writer’s block. I just wanted to say that I enjoy your blog and encourage you to write about things that interest you. Like Caitlin above says, if you bring yourself to the subject then I will continue to follow you because I am interested in your opinions and experiences.

    Thanks again :)

Leave a Reply

