TGIF y’all.

It’s been one hell of a shitastic week. A very dear friend of mine lost her pregnancy, and another was diagnosed with thyroid cancer a mere 10 days after delivering her second baby.

And then there’s all the political bullshit that’s been flying out of the Virginia State Assembly: if you’d like an abortion in VA you’ll need to have an ultrasound 24 hours before the procedure can be performed. Of course, that assumes there will be anyone left to perform them in the state, AND it assumes that it will be legal to obtain one at all. Virginia sure has been busy these last 4 weeks, gunning for the most anti-choice state award. Sadly, it looks like they’ve got first place pretty well locked up.

BUT, while all this has been flying around, I’ve had this on repeat.

Tell me what was good in your week?

5 Comments

Filed under parenting, toddler

5 responses to “TGIF y’all.

  1. Sorry to hear about your friends’ struggles. Tasha had her thyroid removed due to thyroid cancer, so let me know if you have any questions. I will say – knock on wood – that it all went very smoothly.

    Cat story: a cat went missing in our neighborhood for 5 days. Yesterday, someone heard it in the drain (which was covered by a giant steel drum of rubber hosing). My dad and friend moved the hoses and lifted the drain, and I hopped in and got the cat. Hugh was completely traumatized, though, by seeing me go in the drain. Poor guy was just shaking over it…

    • My friend went in to have the right node removed, and they sent her home saying she was fine. And 6 hours later she gets a call that she needs to come back, they need to take the left node, it’s cancerous. I will pass along Tasha’s experience – hopefully she will have a similarly smooth recovery / go forward process.

      Poor Hugh, happy cat!

  2. I feel you so much on this week. So my good…

    1.I am almost half way on my fundraising goal!!!
    2. I am knitting like a fiend to get my creative juices flowing. I just keep trying to keep an attitude that if I create and put positivity out there, surely it must come back?
    *hugs*

  3. Evan is sitting here demanding MORE MORE MORE singing! We’ve watched it 3 times already. It’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

  4. MistressofBoogie

    Sorry to hear about your friends; I hope things get better for them.
    I’d love to tell you what was good about my week, but it’s been a bit of a shit of a week over in Boogieville, but it’s all relative. I was at least really looking forward to next week when Boogie went back to school, but the pesky kid has come down with chicken pox, so that’s me and her at home for the whole of next week…so I bought craptastic amounts of Lego (the real kind, not the patronising ‘Friends’ kind) and Meccano, so I’ll be positive and say I’m looking forward to building stuff with Boogie.
    Seriously, is there any song cuter to get your kids to sing than Sunshine?? Er, no, there’s not.

Leave a Reply

