Monday Miscellany

I had a pumpkin carving party this weekend and didn’t take one.single.picture. How is that possible?!? And there was really a lot of cute happening. Kidlet and his two besties spent hours running around the backyard (I don’t think it was warmer than 40˚F but they didn’t seem to notice it at all), and playing with all kidlet’s toys. When I see him with his friends I wish that we had another child to be close in age to him. I think that if we do have another child, it still won’t be for a while, and then I start to think that they’ll be so far apart in age that I won’t see them interact with each other the way I see him interact with his friends. And I know this is true, because siblings are siblings and will share special love for each other (at least until they grow up, and then all bets are off – they could be besties, or mortal enemies), and friends are friends, and get to go home at the end of the day. So, deep down I know I can’t build in these interactions for him, but sometimes I just feel that…feeling.

I cooked too much food, and crafted silly decorations and everyone had fun, and I’m so glad we’ve been able to make friends with a few families that have kids our kid’s age. A year ago I didn’t think it would happen, and it has. As is the moral of all things you wish would happen right? Stop wishing for it, and you will find it.

_____________________________________________________________________

Kidlet surprised us with some more vomiting Sunday morning. This time we think it was from the hummus that he ate. I guess we can add sesame to the list of foods he’s allergic too.

_____________________________________________________________________

We had a date night last night for our anniversary! With a babysitter and everything! We tried out a restaurant that we’ve been talking about going to for years – everything good that we’ve heard about it was true. Then we went and saw Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert talk. I love food. I love reading about food, and cooking, and eating. And I was really looking forward to this talk, but it was disappointing. It was billed as a conversation between the two of them, and that’s what it was. Only awkward. They set is up as a contrived interview; it opened with Bourdain sitting Ripert in a ‘hot seat’ where he proceeded to ask questions of Ripert from note cards in his hand. Then they switched. I kept waiting for it to feel more organic, or more structured. But it never did either of those things. Maybe I was just tired.

______________________________________________________________________

I collected all the books from my nightstand (I use a dog crate for my night stand, I can collect a LOT of books on it), and my dresser this weekend.


I’ve read about half of them. Like how I mix the uber-serious with the fluff? I love fluff for when I want to read before bed, but am really too tired to keep my eyes open. If I read the good stuff then, I’ll forget it all, and spend a week reading the same 3 pages. Very inefficient. Also, I will read just about anything.

_______________________________________________________________________

What did you all do this weekend?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Monday Miscellany

  1. Found your blog via Suzanne’s and had to comment on this post, because I’m a total fanatic about reading, too. What do/did you think of THE HELP? It’s one of my absolute favorites!

    • TMae

      Hi! I enjoyed The Help. I’ve been thinking about blogging about it, actually. Because while I really enjoyed it (okay, I couldn’t put it down for the 18 hours it took me to read it), I recognize that it’s a problematic representation of a really shitty racial time in US History. (I don’t think “really shitty” is a good descriptor, but it’s the best I can muster right now.) So, while I devoured it, I couldn’t help but think of how privileged the book is.

      I hope to see you around more!

  2. In a strange (and selfish) way, I’m glad you didn’t like Ripert/Bourdain. I wanted to go so, so much when they came to my town, but we couldn’t get a sitter. Now I don’t feel like I missed out as much.

    I hope you get all of his allergies figured out soon, it must me so stressful to keep finding more.

    Happy Halloween!

    • TMae

      I was in the minority apparently. One of the local food bloggers that I read has said GREAT things about the show. But my apathy stands. So, I don’t think you missed ANYTHING. Certainly not for the money we spent.

Leave a Reply

