Parenting is really one big surprise, isn’t it?

I had a moment (if we’re being honest, it might have been a few moments) of intense sadness for kidlet yesterday when I found out that his two best friends at daycare are leaving. TWO. In the same one month period.

The friends that he talks about CONSTANTLY. The friends that he makes up little stories about in the car. The friends that he’s spent the last year of his short life getting to know, and love. And it’s pretty much the cutest thing ever to watch 3 little boys give each other a hug at the end of a day.

When I picked kidlet up from daycare yesterday afternoon the daycare providers said, “Friend, do you want to give kidlet a hug bye-bye?” and he walked over and hugged kidlet. And I said to kidlet, “Say, “See you tomorrow!” And the providers said, “Noo, this is friend’s last day.” And I kinda sat there stunned. Which only got worse when they said, “Oh, Friend 2 is leaving in September, too.”

People, I actually shed a tear. He’s attached to these friends. He wakes up in the morning and looks forward to seeing them. I know he will adapt to them being gone; but will he miss them? Will he be confused that they’re no longer there? My heart broke a little in anticipation of my son’s first noticeable loss.

This wasn’t something that I had even considered when I thought about what parenting would entail. Sleepless nights, fevers, choosing pre-schools…all of that I understood would happen. It never crossed my mind that I would feel sad about a change at daycare. (Let’s just get it out there – it’s possible I’m projecting, and being a little co-dependent. I admit it. Still feeling it though.)

The families of the other two boys have been friends for a while, and I’ve heard about their time spent together with a bit of envy, “Gosh, I wish *I* could break into that circle, too.” And we’ve said to each other, “We should really get together for play dates!” and then it’s never happened. (I’m terrible¬†about making plans with people I don’t know well. What if we don’t like to do the same things? What if they’re busy with the rest of their friends and lives? As an aside, why do I always assume that other people have more interesting lives than we do?)

So here’s my opportunity. New friends for me, maybe, and continued friendship for kidlet.

Also – my kid will be 2 YEARS OLD in a month. How did that escape me until approximately a week ago???

Leave a comment

Filed under life balance, O, parenting

Leave a Reply

