The places we have been

Oh my Maude, it’s been forever since I’ve written. I think about writing, and then I fall asleep. Because I am Le Tired. (Okay, if you’ve never seen the cartoon that I just linked to, go watch it, I’ll wait. Plus, it will help you understand why I use ‘fucking kangaroos’ as an expletive.)

Back?

So, where’ve we been? Well, I’ll show you. (Photo dump ahead.)

We’ve been in the river.

IMG_0640

And at the park.

IMG_0660

And in the woods.

DSC02024

And in West Virginia.

IMG_0708

Where we swam, and kept the toddler up waaaaay past his bedtime eating amazing food at the Elk River Inn.

DSC02050

And my little sister was in town (she’s 14) so we did more going. To Washington D.C. where we walked, and went to the Smithsonian Museum of American History (because I’m a nerd and love pretty much all things American History). We walked some more, and then we wised up and rented bikes. (MUCH more enjoyable to ride around The National Mall in swampy mid-Atlantic July heat.)
DSC02374

We checked out the Capitol building,
DSC02355

and the White House,
DSC02386

the Lincoln Memorial,
DSC02436

the Vietnam Memorial,
DSC02448

the Vietnam Women’s Memorial (it bothers me immensely that the women are depicted caring for a fallen male soldier),
DSC02443

Arlington Cemetery,
DSC02421

and of course, the Washington Monument.
DSC02378

I’m exhausted just typing about it all.

Then my sister when back home to California, “Bye bye on air-pay,” as the toddler says, and we’ve spent the last week getting back into the groove of just being. Well, being, and catching up on laundry, and paid work, and the garden, and, and, and…

I think we have a period of nothing for a few weeks, and then we’re off to the Shenandoah National Park for some weekend camping. I’m super looking forward to that. It’s the first time we’ve taken the toddler camping, and I’m still trying to figure out the sleep logistics for him. I’m not excited about having him in with me, as neither one of us sleep well when we’re sharing close space, but taking the pack ‘n play just seems silly. We’ll figure something out, I’m sure.

Actually, this is the first time the mister and I have camped together, too. So that means I haven’t been camping in over 3 years. Oy. He wants to know if the campground has electricity. Not a camper, this one. He’s being a good sport about it, and will have a fantastic time.

What have you done with your summer?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The places we have been

  1. you rented the bikes in DC? Including the trailer? We’ve been talking about bicycles…. I’m excited about your camping trip! 😀

    • We rented the bikes and the trailer at a kiosk just off the Mall! The place is called Bike the Sights. It was a really awesome way to get around. O even slept in the trailer! I highly recommend it!

  2. Awesome! I told Griff about it and he’s pysched. I think we’re going to Roanoke first. Then making our way to DC and then going to enjoy seeing New England. I’ve wanted to for years so we’re going to take our time thru there!

Leave a Reply

