Mornings in the Life V 2.0 house

I’m not a morning person. Never have been. I married a morning person. Maude love him. My child is a morning person. Maude help me.

Our M,W, Th, and Fri morning routine is actually very sweet, disparate morning preferences notwithstanding:

Kidlet wakes up somewhere between 5:30 a.m. and 6:30 a.m. (UGH). Either I, or kidlet’s dad will go retrieve him from his room and bring him into our bed where he will nurse for a little while. (I am able to lie there mostly half-asleep.) Then his dad takes him and gets him dressed and breakfasted. I stay in bed and attempt to sleep.

When it’s time to take kidlet off to daycare he will receive instruction to, “Go say bye-bye to Mama,” and I’ll hear him come into the bedroom where he might climb onto the bed to give me a kiss, and say, “Bye-bye, Mama.” Or he’ll be carried into the room to say goodbye and blow me kisses.

I love that most mornings he is happy and excited to go off to daycare. I also love that I married someone who is sympathetic of my desire to catch a little more sleep when I can.

4 Comments

Filed under life balance, parenting

4 responses to “Mornings in the Life V 2.0 house

  1. I am super jealous. My husband leaves the house at 6:15 so morning are almost always mine. Unless the toddler gets up at 5 am, which is actually EVEN WORSE.

    • Can’t these toddlers sleep until a normal damn hour? Say, 7a.m.?

      The flip side of morning-husband is that he works from home. Which presents a whole ‘nother set of challenges.

  2. Ooo, that’s nice. Biffle works most nights as a musician, so mornings are all mine. I tend to get up at 5-ish, and Maybelle wakes up between 5:30 and 6. If I can get a cup of coffee in me before she’s up, then life is good.

    • I have forgotten completely what it would be like to have a quiet cup of coffee. Maybe when he’s a teenager? I hear they sleep late a lot…

Leave a Reply

