Summer sandbox

We’ve been talking about getting/building kidlet a sandbox for a few weeks now (we do a LOT of talking about projects in this house), but lo! And behold! We did it! A sandbox for kidlet!

(We repurposed a raised garden bed that we tore out – kept the box, slapped some plywood on the bottom, and voilà! Sandbox!)

DSC05087

It was one of these. I had high hopes for these beds when we put them in two years ago, but they were a miserable failure. We’re going back to the good old-fashioned plants-in-the-ground method. Here’s hoping it doesn’t suck.

IMG_0244

We did some garage sale hunting Saturday morning looking outdoor toys for him. We have a big yard, and while he seems to enjoy pacing the fence line (maybe he gets it from the dog?) I thought it might be nice FOR ALL OF US if he had something to keep him occupied. We came away with trucks. Perfect for kidlet. He LOVES trucks. (So freakin’ cliché, right? Boys love trucks. Yeah, well, we were gifted a bunch of hand-me-down trucks, and books about trucks, and he loves to read so…he also loves his books about animals, but I’m not ready to get chickens or cows just yet. I WOULD like an outdoor kitchen for him – more garage sale hunting for that…Am I rationalizing? That for all my talk of feminist-parenting, my kid is performing gender conformity quite nicely? Feck.)

DSC01404

DSC01409

DSC01421

And now we get to look forward to sand all over the house.

12 Comments

Filed under family time, O

12 responses to “Summer sandbox

    • Thanks! He gets excited to go “ou-side” and play in his “sa-bx”. I get excited to go outside and WATCH him play. When I should be running liners in the yard or something. You know, to work towards my 2011 goal of BEING MORE ACTIVE. Phffftt…that’s the sound my motivation makes.

  1. hughtube

    Wow, that’s awesome. We wanted one but then remembered we had outdoor cats that would be excited our their new giant litter box…

    • We’ve fashioned a very technical cover – two sad pieces of plywood that we lay on top – to deter the ‘hood cats, and keep the rain out. (Lawd, the rain lately…) Hopefully we’ll come up with something more user friendly. And won’t find cat poop in the box in the meantime.

  2. That looks so fun! Up until I read the last line I was going to ask how you get him to keep the sand in the box. I know JD would love one, but I can’t let go of the images of sand EVERYWHERE. I should probably just get over it and learn to enjoy the free time it would give me 🙂

    • I try to take his shoes off before he comes in the house, and brush him off as best I can. I know we’ll find lots of sand all over the yard, but since it’s not going to hurt anything, I’m working on letting that go. (Cue shovelfuls being dumped over the side yesterday.)

  3. Janine

    Does he have a stroller? I’m sending him a stroller.
    Trucks are fun too. Cool sandbox. The sand looks so soft and fine. I hate the grainy, dirty, dead-leaf-and-God-knows-what-else sand at parks. Blech.
    🙂

    • He does NOT have a stroller! That’s an excellent idea. Our parks don’t have sand, which I think is a bummer, but I know what you mean about the rocky, twiggy, yuck sand.

  4. Awesome! Love sandboxes.

    If it makes you feel better I tried to get my boys to play with dolls from a young age and it was a no-go. I even tried to buy my oldest a male Cabbage Patch doll (since I loved mine as a kid) and he adamantly refused it. Nature vs. nurture? I vote for nature on this one.

  5. We’re planning to make a sandbox this summer, too!

    Gender stuff does start so early! I say let him have the trucks, but see if you can work a Barbie or a tutu or something into his play gear.

  6. I bet I could talk my dad into throwing together a sandbox when he comes up to build the patio. Except so far all dirt/mulch/gravel has resulted in throwing, usually in my face.

    And I have no advice on the trucks. Evan LOVES trucks. He also turned an orange flower-shaped squirt bottle into a gun, so, obviously I fail as a mother.

  7. If it makes you feel better I tried to get my boys to play with dolls from a young age and it was a no-go. I even tried to buy my oldest a male Cabbage Patch doll (since I loved mine as a kid) and he adamantly refused it. Nature vs. nurture? I vote for nature on this one.
    +1

Leave a Reply

