A different sort of V-Day

I meant to take a minute on Valentine’s Day and reflect on love, but I’ve been up to my elbows in toddler diarrhea, vomit, and fevers. As such, I don’t have a whole lot of brain to find something mushy to say. And I’m not really the mushy type anyway.

So, I’m gonna talk about Eve Ensler and V-Day, an organization she founded on Valentine’s Day in 1998.

I was fortunate enough to see Eve Ensler perform The Vagina Monologues in San Francisco sometime around 1999. I was initially disappointed that Eve herself would be performing, as I had read about celebrities each performing one of the monologues and I thought it was be really cool to see, say, Diane Keaton, or Susan Sarandon perform live.

I was so, so wrong. No one could have done it better, with more passion, and heart than Eve Ensler. They are stories that were born of her conversations with women, and she was AMAZING. The stories she tells are powerful, and poignant, and moving…she becomes the voice for thousands of women, and their stories about their vaginas.

Anyway, in 1998 she formed V-Day, to “demand that violence against women must end.” And each year, local, semi-coordinated productions of The Vagina Monologues are held in community centers, and on college campuses to raise money for local projects that work to end violence against women and girls.

I know posting today means that it might be too late for many of you to catch your local production of The Vagina Monologues, but I encourage everyone to mark your calendar for next year and go if you can. Or donate money to V-Day, or volunteer your time with an organization in your community. Violence against women is pervasive, and insidious, and must not be tolerated.

In the video, Eve presents the introduction to The Vagina Monologues, and goes on to talk about how she came to know “that happiness exists in action.” Listen to as much as you can – she’s a captivating speaker, and remember that action begets change, and change is the first step towards safety.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

