Changing it up

I needed something new, so new blog theme!

___________________________________________

I had my first photography class last night! I can’t tell you how ridiculous I felt after it was over. I’ve had this camera for over 2 years, I’ve read the manual more than once, and I’ve spent hours on the phone and emailing with my father (a professional photographer) trying to figure out how to use it. Last night, in one 2 hour class I have a better understanding of what the hell I’m doing than all of my other efforts combined. I learned how to take pictures in low light without a flash and have them look decent. (I can’t believe I’m admitting that.) I expect to be brilliant by the time the class is over. Or if not brilliant, at least a whole hell of a lot better.

____________________________________________

Kidlet had his 15-month well baby visit yesterday (so what if he’s 16 and a half months). In a predictable twist, he came down with a cough and copious snots on Monday. Anyway, he gained a little bit of weight, maybe 4-5oz. in the last 3 weeks, which is some progress. He’s now just over 20#’s. Woot!

There was a med student working with O’s doctor yesterday so she came in first and, pretty literally, went over the milestone list with us. She says, “So, he’s stacking blocks then,” and I laughed, because no he doesn’t stack things, but also because Suzanne at bebehblog has mentioned this as a milestone-thorn before. (You’ll have to trust me that she’s mentioned it, because I just spent 15 minutes trying to find the posts where she talks about it and failed miserably. Unless maybe I dreamed it.) Anyway, no, he doesn’t stack blocks. But he DOES feed himself with utensils (when he deigns to eat with us commoners). And apparently utensil using isn’t on the chart ’til later, so I figure they cancel each other out to equal, “just fine.”

 

Here’s the sicky kid. In low light! Without a flash! (Yeah, it’s grainy, but whatever.)
DSC08891

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Changing it up

  1. babyinbrooklyn

    That’s awesome about the photography class. My husband has a fancy camera which neither of us can use very well. I like O’s serious face in that pic.

    • I want a new lens for the camera to make taking picture of food better. (I take lots of pictures of food. Weird, I know.) I couldn’t justify buying a new lens for a camera I only kind of know how to use. The lens will be a reward of sorts.

  2. Hahaha, I totally mention the block stacking ALL THE TIME – it’s on the BabyCenter list I use for my milestone posts. Even funnier, we were in the playroom this morning and I was nursing Caroline and I looked over and Evan has stacked up a huge pile of blocks on his little table.

    I am very jealous of your photography class because I KNOW that’s what I need to really get the most out of my camera but I don’t have the time/location to take one right now.

    • I laughed way harder than was necessary when she started talking about the stacking. And when I said that he wasn’t, she kind of repeated it, like I should be concerned. And I just repeated, “Nope. No stacking.” I’m not sure we were the best family for her to learn on.

  3. Janine

    Awesome. I forgot your dad was a pro photographer. This confirms my need to take a photography class. It’s been on my “someday” list for EVER.
    p.s. just over 20 pounds?! um, same with Lilah.

    • Tiny kid, I haz one! Someone at the park the other day said, “OH! You have an early walker, huh?” We laughed and said, “No, he’s 16.5 months. He’s just small.”

Leave a Reply

