I love my dog!

Happy 8th Birthday Lucy!

Ok, so her birthday was yesterday, but I was busy with a non-napping toddler, and didn’t have the foresight to write this ahead of time. Plus, she’s a dog – she won’t know.

Lucy came to me when she was 5 weeks and 1 day old. Not a week earlier my previous dog had died during her spay surgery (incredibly rare – she probably had a reaction to the anesthesia), and my sister and mother wanted me to have another dog. My sister found the cutest one she could.
Lucy - 6 weeks

She’s about 7 weeks old here. Such a tired puppy.

Lucy’s a very spirited dog. She’s been a big challenge to my patience, and wallet over the years. As I’ve mentioned before, she’s a dog RULED by her stomach. In 2006 she had 8 inches of her intestines removed when she ate a corn cob. NEWSFLASH: corn cobs don’t fit through dog intestines, and cause life-threatening emergencies.
PICT0007

It’s a good look, no?

Then there was the persistent limp she’d had, pretty much since birth. When I finally got around to really investigating what was causing it (in 2008), turned out she had a fracture.
n678366419_2319882_875

Poor puppeh.

I’ve loved every minute of this dog. She has been an enormous comfort, and wonderful friend over the years. She’s been a great companion to me.
DSC08369

Happy Birthday Lucy!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Lucy

2 responses to “I love my dog!

  1. Awwwww! So cute! Our dog used to eat anything made of cloth – underwear, towels, rags, socks – that lead to many a trip to the emergency vet. Luckily no major surgeries were even involved! Happy birthday Lucy!

  2. Val (B-Monkey)

    Happy Belated Birthday Lucy!

Leave a Reply

