A day late – but I’ve been a parent for 13 months…

Seems only fitting that I should finally get around to talking about the boy’s 1st birthday, no?

O’s birthday fell in the shadow of my cousin’s son’s death (which I’m working on telling you all about…it’s hard to talk about babies dying though), so it was a little bittersweet. But we were at my mom’s house in California, so we were able to have a small celebration with my family, and friends. And CAKE! It’s not a birthday without cake!

O had a great time. He loved having all the kids to play with around. I think he had a good time opening his gifts, and he LOVED the cake. The party needed to be shifted at the last minute to accommodate the memorial service, so it didn’t come off the way I had planned. But nonetheless, it was a nice way to usher in toddlerhood.

 

Happy Birthday!

 

DSC07152

DSC07173

DSC07188

(cute shirt, no? Very proud…I made it.)

When we got back to Virginia, he had a second first birthday with some friends here. That’s a LOT of birthday parties. A good friend of mine made a spectacular cake for him. It was perfect, and incredibly tasty too!

 

So awesome

 

It’s such a cliché, but this year has flown by. O has changed so much, and is turning into the cutest little boy ever. (I know, every mom says that…and for every kid – it’s true!)

2 Comments

Filed under family time, O

2 responses to “A day late – but I’ve been a parent for 13 months…

  1. Yay baby O! Loved celebrating with you all on such a special occasion. Didn’t realize you’d made the shirt-very cool. You’re such a great mama.

  2. The shirt is adorable and I cannot BELIEVE he’s already so big. You would think with a toddler of my own it wouldn’t come as such a surprise but in my head your baby will always be 6 months old.

Leave a Reply

