Breakin’ the law

I’ve lived in this town with my dog since September 2003, nearly 7 years. For 7 years I’ve known that city law requires that she be licensed. I’ve willfully ignored that law, since where I lived previously, in order to qualify for the spayed/neutered license, and accompanying lesser fee, you needed to provide proof of spayed/neutered status. I assumed that it would be the same here. Basically, I’m lazy. And it’s a dog license.

I've been illegal all these years?

So a few weeks ago I got a letter in the mail from the city Treasurer’s Office notifying me that I needed to get a license for my dog. State law mandates all dogs over the age of 4 months have a rabies shot, and licensing dogs allows the city to track rabies vaccinations, since your dog must be vaccinated in order to be licensed. And there’s a new nifty little law mandating that veterinarians notify the Treasurer’s Office every time they give a dog a rabies shot. Lucy got her rabies in April; I guess it takes the city a few months to catch up.

Anyway, I just needed to check the box “spayed/neutered” and send my check for $12 and I got a shiny new 3 year license in the mail about a week later. “Phew!” I thought, “I’m glad that has been taken care of. I hate to be a law-breaker. I can rest easier at night now.”

NOT SO FAST. Today I found a notice from Animal Control on my door, letting me know that they were stopping by to check Lucy’s license. And a friend of mine, who did pretty much the same thing I did, and waited until she got the notice in the mail to license her dog, says that she’s had 3 notices left on her door. This last one was a “Final Notice” with Final Notice underlined in RED.

Say what? Both of us have licenses for our dogs. Are they stopping by to check and make sure the dogs are wearing their licenses? Do the dogs need to show their license now, to any and all who ask? Do you suppose the Treasurer’s Office and Animal Control could communicate about which animals have been issued licenses? Does this seem like a valid use of a city employee’s time? Is the city using this to generate revenue? (Did I mention that a 1 year license costs FOUR dollars? Not an enormous amount of revenue…)

Whatevs. Maybe I’ll be home next time animal control comes to check her license. Or maybe she’ll be outside and they can just check themselves.

2 Comments

Filed under asshattery, Lucy

2 responses to “Breakin’ the law

  1. Our dog license was supposed to be renewed in June. But since Brutus’s rabies shot expires in April 2011, they won’t give me a license until he gets a new one, and I REFUSE to pay $120 for a vet visit for a shot he doesn’t need yet. STUPID TOWN. I don’t know what the solution is, except to just not take him to the dog park where someone might check.

  2. TMae

    That’s freakin’ ridiculous. I get that it’s easier for the city to keep track of licensing if they ALL expire at the same time, but not all dogs get vaccinated at the same time so…I’d be PISSED if animal control ticketed me in that situation.

Leave a Reply

