Ahhh…food allergies. The fun that never stops.

Well, kidlet’s allergic! I mean, we knew this. Or suspicioned it anyway. Now we have incontrovertible, medical evidence.

Poor kid!

Positive reactions in order of severity: Egg, peanut, salmon, almond, mixed fin fish, and hazelnuts.

Negative reactions: wheat, dairy, and soy.

The thing about allergy testing for food (and this is about the peanuts, although the allergist says we can take that reaction to the bank) is that you can’t look at a positive clinical test as proof of an allergy. Lots of people (myself included) will have strong clinical reactions to foods they eat without any noticeable problems. You have to take clinical reactions in conjunction with actual ingestion reactions to really diagnose a problem. So, we’re pretty clear about eggs, salmon makes a bit of sense considering the bagel vomit, and almond fits with rash (Maybe. The rash didn’t respond to Benadryl, which everyone seems to think it should have, if it was an allergic reaction). But peanuts? I guess I can’t really be sure because he doesn’t really like peanuts, or peanut butter, so I’m not positive he’s ever knowingly encountered peanut. Ugh.

So the goal is to eliminate all these foods from his diet (no real challenge, with the exception of fish, he doesn’t really eat any of these things anyway) and then “challenge” some of the lesser reactive ones (like salmon) after he’s been vomit free for some period of time.

This made complete sense until I came home and started talking things out with my mom, and friends. I started to remember other episodes of vomiting that I had attributed to ear infections, or that we couldn’t attribute to anything. And we had told the allergist that he’d been vomit-free for months prior to the egg confirming episode in July, except that the more I thought about it, the more I realized that wasn’t true at all.

Am I resisting the “I have an allergic kid” label? Yes. To some degree I am. I was allergic to eggs when I was younger – I used to get hives if I ate them. So my parents just didn’t feed me eggs. No big deal. Now, my kid’s allergic to them, and we have EpiPens stashed all over the place, we’ve scratch tested him (which he HATED), and we’re obsessively reading labels.

We’re pretty nervous to take him out to eat, even if we bring him his own food. Most of the places we like to go serve eggs. What if there is egg on the table and he touches it? And then picks up his food and puts it in his mouth? I’m afraid that any packaged food (particularly crackers or cookies) might have been processed in a facility that also processes nuts or egg products. (I know some labels say, but that’s a voluntary disclosure so if a label doesn’t say, can I trust it?) I’m pretty sure vomiting will be the extent of his reaction; he doesn’t have asthma and kids with asthma are more likely to have life-threatening reactions, but the allergist said he usually advises parents who have kids that are vomiting from food ingestion to use the EpiPen, because vomiting is classified as an anaphylactic reaction. OHMYMAUDE. The more I know, the less secure I feel.

And sending him to friends houses to play? This seems insurmountable to me. Here’s my toddler and his list of allergies, and his EpiPen, and, and, and…who wants that responsibility? Babysitters? You see how this is spiraling.

It’ll all be alright. I just need to adjust, and have a few weeks of no vomiting and give myself  a chance to chill the hell out.

I’ll chill out, right?

9 Comments

Filed under O, parenting, toddler

9 responses to “Ahhh…food allergies. The fun that never stops.

  1. Woah, what a crazy picture. Poor little guy. At least you KNOW more at this point, and the fear is bound to decrease as you move forward. Plus, he’s already eaten all those things before and vomiting was the worst of it. So if he ever does accidentally ingest eggs, that will probably be his same reaction. It’s great that he’s not allergic to wheat since bread and pasta are such kid friendly foods and easy to find at restaurants. Hang in there, mama…

  2. Jay

    You will adjust, and you will chill out, and it will be OK. Keep breathing.

    • I know I’ll feel better in a few weeks once the onslaught of previously non-considered variables in my brain slows down. And as I start to develop new logistics. And I’ll remember to breathe.

  3. Kim

    I don’t have any experience with allergies, but we’re dealing with diet issues due to high cholesterol in the toddler, and I am also hesitant to give him the label and put him on a low fat diet at 2 years old. I’m usually all about listening to the doctor, but… you know.

    • That sounds like a whole different kind of awful. Uck. I don’t know much about high cholesterol in kids, but I’d be making that, “Hmm..I’m not sure about this” face about a low fat diet, too. :/

  4. Pingback: I used to love food. | Life V 2.0

Leave a Reply

