Conversation with my father

My dad and I talk infrequently on the phone. Maybe once a month, sometimes even less often. He called this weekend and we talked about life, and nursing toddlers. It went something like this;

Me: I’m thinking about weaning O.
Him: Really? I’m surprised. I figured you’d let him wean organically when he was ready. You know, ’cause you’re kind of ‘earthy’ that way.
Me: Yeah, I know, but I’d sorta like my nights back. But I’m really excited to hear you say that you’re surprised that I’m thinking of weaning. A lot of people are surprised that I’m still nursing him. Plus, some people are weirded out that I’m nursing a toddler.
Him: Yeah, well, some people are fucking stupid.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why my dad rocks.

13 Comments

Filed under breastfeeding, funny stuff, O

13 responses to “Conversation with my father

  1. Your dad wins at parenting.

  2. *insert hearty chuckle* I love that!

  3. That’s awesome! I officially love your dad.

  4. That is too cute! Go Dad.

  5. That’s awesome! Your dad totally hit the nail on the head!

Leave a Reply

